New Post

Welcome!

Welcome to thirty-two eleven (”3211”). This newsletter will entail: 3 Reads, 2 Rabbit Holes, 1 Watch, and 1 Listen — 3/2/1/1. Detailing what I have been up to, on the internet.

introduction:

I was traveling for work in Fresno, California this week for work. Not much goes on here. Deleted a pretty good Torta with some Horchata from a hole in the wall taco spot that was strictly Spanish speaking. Chat GPT-4 dropped this week, some wild stuff coming out from it. I turn 25 on Monday, lil spooky.

3 reads:

1 - I am in a few Facebook groups with these "Bag Nerds". Some really cool custom bag Instagram accounts have come about in this realm. Two of my favorites are Andrea Perici out of Italy and Filip Raboch in Prague, Czech Republic.

2 - Electronic Bandages.

3 - Ken Rideout - The most interesting man in the world.

Ken Rideout - InnerVoice | The Voice of Endurance Sports

The first thing I do in the morning is go for a run. It’s never a negotiation. I’ve never woken up and thought to myself that I don’t feel like doing it today. It’s just never happened. I get up and do it because I know the kind of depression I’ll carry around with me the rest of the day if I don't get that endorphin rush in the morning. It’s almost like a necessary evil. People think I’m crazy when I tell them I run 10 to 15 miles per day, especially when it’s done before I go into the office. I'm a big believer in telling people what your goals are so you can't walk them back. Once you’ve told people, there's a huge level of accountability and there are no more excuses. Adding that pressure is motivation for me, and when you’re in those dark places in a marathon, you need anything you can to keep you going. Personally, I find the fear of losing to be pretty powerful. I so desperately don’t want to lose, and I don’t want to embarrass myself. However, I love the question “What would you attempt if you knew you couldn’t fail?” As much as I want to win, I lose 99% of the races I enter. I’ve only won around 5 legitimate races in my whole life. But that’s what keeps me coming back. Overcoming fear, never accepting defeat, and never settling. You don’t have to win every round to win a fight so you can look at the next event or race as just another round of the fight. I ran a 3:30 marathon and thought it would be impossible to break 3 hours, but then I just decided that I didn't want to limit myself to that goal. My times kept coming down in big chunks: I ran a 2:58, 2:45, then 2:33. And each time I hit a new milestone I realized that I probably had a lot more to give, and I would wonder whether I could take another 10 minutes off. I think the biggest limitation for a lot of people is the mental component. You’re in control of whether or not you train, and how much you train. And if you put in the work, you’ll see the results. I think I’m proof of that. I’ve played a lot of sports and was never elite or super talented, I just wanted to win and that has really applied to my life since finding endurance sports. I don’t want my beliefs to be limiting, so I want to try to win the Masters division, or win my age group at the Boston Marathon, or win my age group at Kona. I think a lot of it has to do with being a kid and wanting to be accepted by my dad, or by my peers, or to fit in. Childhood was difficult, at times. I feel a bit guilty because that feeling of wanting to be relevant can be very selfish and it can impact my wife and kids. I’m super aware of it, but being aware of a problem doesn’t mean you’re doing anything to fix it. I’m aware that at some point I probably have to work out a healthier balance between it all. 

2 rabbit holes:

1 - My dad (coolest dude I know) recommended checking out Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives to find good spots to eat when traveling for work. After a bit of research, I found this site which compiles all restaurants featured on food shows based on location. Unfortunately Fresno, CA only had one restaurant but fun to browse around in different cities and towns.

2 - Chat GPT-4 being wild.

1 watch:

1 - My guy Señor Cutlet showed me this. Clarence Kennedy is one of the craziest athletes I have ever seen. This guy is a savage. This video shows the transformation of the weight he puts up from 2006 on. Clarence does not compete in Olympic weightlifting but very well could win many events. 

1 listen:

1 - Imagine running 2,500 miles across Australia, in some of the most brutal conditions on Earth, in under 50 days. This is the remarkable story of Nedd Brockmann.

A charismatic young electrician apprentice with a legendary bleach blonde mullet and world-class personality, at just 23 years old, Nedd audaciously set out to become the fastest person to ever run across his native Australia–4000km (2,500 miles) from Perth to Bondi Beach in Sydney.

Cheers,